To The Top

MU Postdoctoral Awards for Teaching and Research

The newly established Postdoctoral Awards recognize the contributions of postdoctoral scholars and their demonstration of excellence in the areas of teaching and research at the University of Missouri. The awards are open to postdoctoral scholars in all disciplines.

Nominees for these awards must currently be a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Missouri, Columbia campus and have held the position as a postdoc for at least one semester prior to the nomination. Self-nominations are encouraged.

Postdoctoral award winners will be recognized at the Awards Banquet hosted by the Office of Graduate Studies in April. The awards will consist of an honorarium of $500 to $1,000 (depending on number of awardees). The awards will be administered by the MU Postdoctoral Association (MUPA) with support from the Office of Postdoctoral Education. Funding for the award is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies.

Nomination requirements for both postdoctoral awards, including eligibility and criteria, can be found in the attached call. The fillable nomination form is also attached below.

Send nominations and materials as a single PDF to: 
Deadline: February 1, 2018, 11:59 PM CST


Preparing Future Faculty Postdoctoral Fellowship Program

The PFF Postdoctoral Scholars Programs provide teaching and/or research and professional development opportunities for postdoctoral scholars. The program allows postdoctoral scholars opportunities to participate in mentored training to more fully prepare them for their careers. Fellows are invited to develop discipline-based or interdisciplinary courses or teach prepared courses in their discipline.

There are two PFF Postdoctoral Fellowship Programs. One is designed specifically for any postdoctoral fellow on the MU campus and MU doctoral students who will be completing their degree prior to the start of the fellowship. The goal of this program is to provide and/or expand teaching and professional development opportunities for postdoctoral scholars. Fellows are invited to develop discipline-based or interdisciplinary courses or teach prepared courses in their discipline. Funding for this program requires a match from the academic unit in which they will be housed. Applications for this program are contingent upon funding availability.

The PFF Postdoctoral Program for Faculty Diversity is designed to promote and develop scholars for tenure-track faculty positions at the University of Missouri or elsewhere, in any discipline. The fellowships are for 2 years, during which time the scholars focus on scholarship and participate in professional development activities that integrate and expose them to the faculty experience, including the opportunity to teach in their discipline during the second year.

Applicants who have completed their degree at an accredited university by July 1, 2018 are eligible to apply. Current postdoctoral scholars also may apply if their doctoral degree was awarded in or after spring 2013. Applicants should demonstrate how they can contribute to faculty diversity, such as through membership in a group that is historically underrepresented or undeserved in a particular discipline or through other training experience. The link for application materials for the PFF Postdoctoral Fellowship for Faculty Diversity can be found below. Please note that this portal is the same portal used for graduate admissions and you will need to create an account as a first-time user to begin the application process. All application materials must be received by 11:59 PM, November 30, 2017.


National Postdoctoral Association (NPA) Affiliate Membership

NPA provides a national united voice and advocates for positive work environments for postdoctoral fellows, researchers, instructors, and scholars. 

The MU Office of Graduate Studies has paid for institutional membership with the National Postdoctoral Association (NPA).  This means all of Mizzou’s postdocs are entitled to free affiliate (individual-level) membership to NPA. In doing this, we join a long list of other prestigious universities who are also members of NPA. Here’s a list of their individual member benefits:

  • Subscription to NPA e-alerts, a periodic news announcement, and The POSTDOCket, the NPA’s official quarterly newsletter
  • Reduced registration fees to the NPA Annual Meeting & eligibility for the NPA travel award program
  • Access to members-only NPA Web content
  • Access to NPA Member Groups to connect & network with fellow NPA members
  • Discounts to services and products.
  • Opportunities to serve and contribute your expertise on a variety of NPA committees
  • Voting rights in all NPA elections and on NPA ballot issues
  • National representation on postdoctoral issues

To obtain your free membership, contact the Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs.

NPA membership is also open to faculty and administrators. For more information, contact Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs.


PFF Postdoctoral Fellows Program

Cohort 1

Kira Bailey

Department of Psychological Sciences

Jess Bowers

Department of English

Natalie Downer

Division of Biological Sciences

Kathryn Jones

Department of Textiles and Apparel Management

Barbara Mitchell

Department of Special Education

Jamin Perry

Department of Chemistry

Jacob Westhoff

Department of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences

Cohort 2

Alex Cahill

Department of Theatre

Holly Holladay

Department of Women’s and Gender Studies

Department of Communication

Honors College

Ae-Kyung Jung

Department of Educational, School and Counseling Psychology

Matthew Lee

Department of Psychological Sciences

Juliette Paul

Department of English

Resources & Professional Development for Postdoctoral Fellows

There are professional development opportunities and resources for postdoctoral fellows on our campus: