Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Graduate Faculty Mentor Award

The MU Graduate Faculty Mentor Award recognizes the mentoring relationship a graduate faculty adviser has developed with graduate students. A $1,500 honorarium is provided to the graduate faculty member selected for this award. Only full-time, active, current graduate faculty on the MU campus are eligible.

Each department or program may nominate one faculty member. Nominators should consult with graduate students in the department or program before selecting a nominee. Past recipients of the award are not eligible. Nominations from previous years do not carry over.

Nomination deadline

  • Call out: September 1
  • Nominations due to Office of Graduate Studies: November 1 (if November 1 falls on a weekend, the due date will be the following Monday)

Nomination packets

The nomination packet should be saved as a single PDF file labeled with the nominee’s name. It should include the following documents, saved in the following order:

  1. A completed nomination form as the cover sheet, with signatures. (Attached to this message as a PDF form that can be printed, signed, and scanned.)
  2. The nominating letter, no longer than three typed pages, from a director of graduate studies, department chair or dean.
  3. Three to five letters of support written by former and/or current advisees.
  4. One to three letters from other MU graduate faculty colleagues.
  5. A one- to two-page statement from the nominee about her or his philosophy of working with and mentoring graduate students.
  6. A list of supervised theses and dissertations.


The award recipient will be selected by the Graduate Faculty Senate Awards Committee on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Quality of the philosophy of working with and mentoring graduate students
  • Quality of mentoring as perceived by former and current advisees
  • Quality of mentoring as perceived by graduate faculty colleagues
  • Productivity of the nominee’s mentoring career

Nomination packets should be sent to: with the subject line "Grad Mentor Award Nomination"

Recognition beyond MU

The highest-ranking tenured nominee of this award qualifies to represent MU for the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools’ (CSGC) Outstanding Mentor Award selection process. The MU nominee will be submitted to CSGS the fall of the next academic year.

Past Recipients

  • 2016-17
  • Julija Sukys
  • 2015-16
    Benyamin Schwarz
  • 2014-15
    Jerry Taylor
  • 2013-14
    Peter Vallentyne
  • 2012-13
    Ronald Phillips
  • 2011-12
    Lloyd H. Barrow
  • 2010-11
    Mitchell S. McKinney
  • 2009-10
    Patricia J. Friedrichsen
  • 2008-09
    Sandra Abell
    Trudy Lewis
  • 2007-08
    Jean Ispa
    Michael Smith
  • 2006-07
    Timothy Trull
    Sheryl Tucker
  • 2005-06
    Mary Heppner
  • 2004-05
    Brent Mallinckrodt
  • 2003-04
    Rex Campbell
  • 2002-03
    Puncky Heppner
  • 2001-02
    Marilyn Coleman Ganong