Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Natural Resources

The School of Natural Resources is one of the few schools in the U.S. with a comprehensive natural resources program. It is a division of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. It encompasses atmospheric sciences, environmental science, fisheries, forestry, parks, recreation, soils, tourism and wildlife. The school is based on an integrated, scientific approach to natural resources management. It is housed in the Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Building containing state-of-the-art teaching, research and outreach extension facilities.

The school is housed with some of the oldest academic programs in the U.S. The Department of Soils was formed at MU in 1914. The Fisheries and Wildlife Program was established in 1937. The Department of Forestry was established at MU in 1947 and was elevated to the status of School of Forestry in 1957. The Department of Atmospheric Science was formed in 1966. The Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism was added in 1988. The School of Natural Resources was formed through a name change in 1989. In 2017 departments within the school were dissolved with the graduate program evolved into seven emphasis areas: Agroforestry, Fisheries and Wildlife, Forestry, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, Soil, Environmental and Atmospheric Sciences, and Water Resources. With over 800 undergraduates, graduates, and 50 faculty members, the school is noted for excellent education, strong professional orientation, active student organizations and outstanding advising.

Degrees Offered

MS in Natural Resources

Ph.D. in Natural Resources

Graduate Certificates Offered

Contact Information

Dr. Hong He, Director of Graduate Studies
The School of Natural Resources
203 Anheuser-Busch Natural Resources Building
SNR Website