Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

CIRTL Events & Courses 

2017 CIRTL Network Fall Calendar of Events

Student Teaching as Research (STAR) Mini-Grants

MU Office of Graduate Studies is pleased to announce the first annual call for proposals for Student Teaching as Research (STAR) Projects. All MU graduate students and postdoctoral scholars are eligible to apply for a $1,500 mini-grant to conduct small research projects on undergraduate/graduate teaching and learning methods and impacts. A total of ten grants are available this year. The deadline for the application is 5:00 pm on Oct. 25th, 2017.

Each applicant will need to submit a three-page proposal that includes a brief introduction, objectives of the research, and a discussion of the materials and methods being used to achieve the objectives and on the proposed use of the funds. A one-page CV for the applicant must be included.  Projects must also include a signed letter from a collaborating MU faculty member that certifies that they will allow the applicant to conduct a teaching research project in the faculty member’s Spring semester course and approves of the proposed project. If the applicant is the instructor of record then the applicant’s department chair must provide a letter of approval. Successful applicants will be required to participate in teaching research workshops in November and December, 2017, submit a report of their research findings, and participate in a poster session at the Celebration of Teaching at MU.

If you need further information about this opportunity and to submit the proposals, please contact Dr. Peter Motavalli, MU Leader for the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning and Professor; School of Natural Resources, 302 ABNR Building; University of Missouri; email: motavallip@missouri.edu.

CIRTL Network Courses Open for Registration

Teaching with Technology
Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30-11AM MT / 8:30-10AM PT
Discover new instructional tools and learn how to critically evaluate evolving technologies. Cap: 25. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Teaching-as-Research
Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 2PM-3:30PM ET / 1PM-2:30PM CT / 12PM-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers in this intermediate-level course. Registrants will be sent an additional application to fill out after signing up for the course. Cap: 20. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Creating Assessments for the STEM Classroom
Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30AM-11AM MT / 8:30AM-10AM PT
Learn how to create and implement assessments particular to STEM courses. Cap: 30. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

The College Classroom: Teaching Inclusively
Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Study issues of inclusion and develop an inclusive micro-teaching plan in this hands-on course. Cap: 30. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Diversity in the College Classroom
Wednesdays, 10/4-12/6: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies. Cap: 20. Registration: 8/28-9/25.

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men
Thursdays, 10/5-12/7: 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT
Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM. Cap: 35. Registration: 8/28-9/25.


CIRTL Network Workshops Open for Registration

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data in Your Teaching-as-Research Project
Tuesday October 10 and 24, at 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project). Cap: 30. Registration: 9/18-10/2.


CIRTL Network MOOC Open for Registration

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching
Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17
Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Registration: 8/28-10/2.


CIRTL Network Teaching Institute Open for Registration

Teaching at Teaching Intensive Institutions
Friday, October 6: 9AM - 3PM ET at Westfield State University in Westfield, MA
University of Massachusetts Amherst, a CIRTL member, is hosting a day-long institute that will introduce graduate students and post-docs to faculty careers at teaching-intensive institutions. CIRTL grad students and postdocs are encouraged to apply. Registration will remain open until the institute fills up.


CIRTL Network Upcoming Drop-In Events

The Status of Women Scientists
Wednesday, 10/4: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
In the first of four events on women in STEM, we will assess the challenges women face at the graduate level and professionally, as well as strategies for creating inclusive environments.

Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market
Wednesday, 10/11: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
We will discuss strategies for navigating the job market, and ways that institutions, departments, and hiring committees can address barriers that uniquely impact women.

Women in STEM Careers Panel
Wednesday, 10/18: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Join us for a panel of women at various stages of their careers reflect on their personal and professional experiences in STEM disciplines.

Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research
Wednesday, 10/25: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
In the final event in this four-part series, we will reflect on critical and feminist pedagogies in STEM teaching and research.

MU Events
CIRTL Network Events