Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Nursing Alumna Garners National Award

February 5, 2016

Surrounded by MU Sinclair School of Nursing faculty, Dr. Jennifer Dine (center) receives her award from Drs. Eileen Breslin and Deborah Trautman

The MU Sinclair School of Nursing has every right to be proud:  Alumna Dr. Jennifer Dine received the Excellence in Advancing Nursing Science Award at the 2016 American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Doctoral Education Conference in Naples, FL. 

According to the AACN site, the Excellence in Advancing Nursing Science Award acknowledges an "outstanding dissertation from a student in a PhD in nursing or DNS program....that focuses on advancing nursing science and developing new evidence with the potential to guide nursing practice."

Dr. Dine's award-winning dissertation research is entitled Characterization of a Novel Regulator and Predictors of Sensitivity to TRAIL-induced Apoptosis in Breast Cancer Cells. Her research was supported by a pre-doctoral fellowship in the NIH Graduate Partnerships Program.

"Jenny truly stepped up to the challenges of the NINR/NIH Summer Genetics Institute as well as the Graduate Professional Partnership fellowships," noted her doctoral adviser, Dr. Jane Armer.

Dr. Armer added, "Jenny was always willing to embrace new opportunities and challenges. For example, as a high school student, she volunteered with one of our research projects. She was also a participant in the first lymphedema certification course we taught in South Africa."

After completing her coursework and successfully passing her comprehensive examination on the Mizzou campus, Dine completed her breast cancer research in the laboratory of Dr. Stan Lipkowitz at Women's Malignancies Branch, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute. Dr. Dine earned her Phd in December 2015. 

"Her hard work has culminated in the national recognition of her outstanding dissertation research. We are all very proud of her," said Dr. Armer.

Jennifer Dine PhD, RN (center) is pictured with (from left):  Eileen Breslin PhD, RN, FAAN,  American Association of Colleges of Nursing Chair; Deborah Trautman PhD, RN, FAAN,  American Association of Colleges of Nursing President & CEO; Deidre D. Wipke-Tevis PhD, RN, Sinclair School of Nursing PhD Director; Robin C. Harris, DNP, RN,  Sinclair School of Nursing DNP Director; and Judith F. Miller PhD, RN, FAAN , Sinclair School of Nursing Dean.